Wiki:
Page name: FANG review [Exported view] [RSS]
2010-09-04 14:26:20
Last author: *Phoenix*
Owner: *Phoenix*
# of watchers: 2
Fans: 0
D20: 7
Bookmark and Share
Previous: Through the Looking Glass reviewUp: *Phoenix* Books 2010Next: Eragon review

FANG review

<img150*0:stuff/FANG_review.jpg>

FANG by James Patterson

Genre: Young-adult, Fantasy, Sci-Fi

Check out: reading challenge 2010
& *Phoenix* Books 2010


<img:good.gif><img:good.gif><img:good.gif>


FANG WILL BE THE FIRST TO DIE. Maximum Ride is used to living desperately on the run from evil forces sabotaging her quest to save the world—but nothing has ever come as close to destroying her as this horrifying prophetic message. Fang is Max's best friend, her soul mate, her partner in the leadership of her flock of winged children. A life without Fang is a life unimaginable.

FANG is another great addition to the Maximum Ride Series. The book takes its usual twists and turns along the way, but doesn't climax until near the end. The whole push of the story is revealed near the beginning (Fang's going to die, Dylan's Max's perfect match) thus forcing you to read it to the end. But within all that you still have the typical Max hotheadedness, evil scientists, and a couple of fights within the story. There's not as much action in this story as in previous Maximum Ride books. It also leaves some unanswered questions that can lead to another book.

All in all, another good, typical Maximum Ride book. I would recommend adding it to your collection if you already have the others.

/ [*Phoenix*]



Order of Maximum Ride Series:
1. The Angel Experiment
2. School's Out-Forever
3. Saving the World and Other Extreme Sports
4. The Final Warning
5. MAX
6. FANG
7. (rumored to be ANGEL)



   More book reviews

Username (or number or email):

Password:

2010-09-06 [SilverFire]: Question: what are the fantasy elements of this series? :/ I was checking out a synopsis on wikipedia (which has it listed as sci-fi and fantasy too) and I could see the sci-fi elements, but didn't really see anything that made me think 'ah, yes, that's fantasy'.

2010-09-08 [*Phoenix*]: Probably the whole "people with wings" thing. It's also considered fantasy in the book itself (if you look in the cover). It could be because it's set in this time period, but it's not reality, ya know?

2010-09-08 [SilverFire]: But I thought the wings thing was explained scientifically/pseudo-scientifically?

2010-09-11 [*Phoenix*]: That refers to how they got the wings, I think just the fact they have wings makes it fantasy. From reading the series, I myself would count it as a fantasy AND sci-fi novel.

2010-09-12 [SilverFire]: :? wat wat? Noo-oo. :P Having wings doesn't make it fantasy if there's a scientific explanation. I know lots of sci-fi novels where characters have wings, and no one tries to claim that they're fantasy. O.o

2010-09-12 [*Phoenix*]: I'm not sure if you saw my earlier part of my comment or not so I'm just going to say it again. My only other explanation of it being "fantasy" is because it's set in this time period, but it's not reality. Other then that I'm not 100% sure because I don't try and classify books for a living.

2010-09-12 [SilverFire]: I assumed by that you meant an alternate reality, which is again, not fantasy. :/

2010-09-12 [*Phoenix*]: no, not really an "alternate reality" per se.......I don't think I'm explaining this right.....

2010-09-12 [*Phoenix*]: http://dictionary.reference.com/ gives these definitions:

Fantasy:
" imagination, esp. when extravagant and unrestrained.
Literature . an imaginative or fanciful work, esp. one dealing with supernatural or unnatural events or characters: The stories of Poe are fantasies of horror. "

Science fiction:
" a form of fiction that draws imaginatively on scientific knowledge and speculation in its plot, setting, theme, etc. "

Having flying robotic wolves come after you would definitely be "unnatural." Using the scientific knowledge of bird DNA being grafted into your DNA would be science fiction because it hasn't happened yet. I do believe this book to be fantasy AND sci-fi.

2010-09-12 [SilverFire]: No offence, but that's a bit of a rubbish definition, and doesn't really prove anything, and your example of the flying robotic wolves proves the point exactly. :) it's sci-fi. Just because it's "not natural" doesn't mean it's suddenly fantasy. I mean, what do you call unnatural? human-bird hybrids are unnatural, but we can agree that that element is sci-fi. If someone submitted a Poe review here, I certainly wouldn't stick it in fantasy, I'd stick it in horror, and I don't think anyone would really question me on that. The definition of fantasy provided there is too broad and covers a lot of things that most people wouldn't consider 'fantasy'. Some people would call graphic murder unnatural, others call incest or cannibalism unnatural, etc. but I wouldn't stick a book under fantasy just because it had cannibalism or incest in it (or even if it had both XP)

2010-09-12 [*Phoenix*]: You put it wherever you want. You asked my opinion, I gave it to you. I believe it to be both so I'm going to leave both in my review. Maybe if you're REALLY curious, you can read the series yourself, and then see if maybe you can get where I'm coming from. (It's a great series.) I'm probably not explaining it quite the way you'd like me to, but I would categorize it under both.

2010-09-12 [SilverFire]: I will, and I wasn't even suggesting you change your review ;) It's just when I don't understand something, I try and find out the answer, but since this seems to be bothering you I'll go ask someone else, no worries. :) (my unread book pile is already a mile high so unless I happen to see it in a second-hand book shop for uber cheaps, I probably won't end up reading it <_<)

2010-09-12 [*Phoenix*]: I just don't know what else to tell you, that's all. (Oh well, maybe someday you'll find you'll have time to read it.)

2010-09-19 [Alexi Ice]: The review is kind of....um...well, it's got no substance. If I had not already READ Fang and the Max Ride series, this wouldn't convince me to read it. Your just repeating what the inside/outside covers say.

I don't mean this to be rude or anything. Just honest.

And I agree with Silver. I see fantasy ASPECTS, but it shouldn't be put in that category.

2010-09-24 [*Phoenix*]: The book didn't make me that excited. It was just another typical Maximum Ride book so I didn't really put much into it because there wasn't much to the story...

It's okay. I appreciate it. I think I subconsciously made a "no-substance" review because the book didn't have much substance.

Well, apparently the Library of Congress thinks it does. I understand what you guys are getting at, and thinking about it, I agree. When I think Fantasy I think Elves and there aren't elves in this book. I'm going to leave Fantasy up in my genre because that's what the book might be categorized as.

2010-09-24 [Alexi Ice]: What does the library want it?

2010-09-25 [*Phoenix*]: Huh?

Show these comments on your site

Elftown - Wiki, forums, community and friendship. Sister-site to Elfwood